MTI appoints 18 members to Enterprise Singapore board

THE Ministry of Trade and Industry (MTI) has appointed 18 people to the board of Enterprise Singapore, the new one-stop government agency which will help Singapore companies go global.

Enterprise Singapore will be established on Apr 1 following the merger of Spring Singapore and International Enterprise Singapore.

Peter Ong Boon Kwee, the former head of Civil Service, will be officially appointed chairman on the same date.

MTI's second permanent secretary, Png Cheong Boon, who used to head Spring and JTC Corporation, was named Enterprise Singapore's first chief executive last year. His appointment as CEO will also take effect on Apr 1.

READ ALSO: Merger of Spring and IE Singapore timely in face of global economic changes: Iswaran

These are the board members, whose appointments will take effect from Apr 1:

  • Peter Ong, chairman, Enterprise Singapore
  • Png Cheong Boon, chief executive officer, Enterprise Singapore
  • Beh Swan Gin, chairman, Economic Development Board (EDB)
  • Piyush Gupta, chief executive officer, DBS Group Holdings Ltd
  • Vivek Kumar, assistant director-general, National Trades Union Congress
  • Andrew Kwan, group managing director, Commonwealth Capital Group
  • Jeanne Liew, principal and chief executive officer, Nanyang Polytechnic
  • Lim Chow Kiat, chief executive officer, GIC
  • Max Loh, managing partner, Asean and Singapore, Ernst & Young LLP
  • Pierre Lorinet, non-executive director, Trafigura
  • Low Ming Wah, executive director, president and chief operating officer, Micro-Mechanics (Holdings) Ltd
  • Mohammed Nasser Bin Ismail, senior vice-president, head of Equity Capital Market (SMEs) and head of Capital Market Development, Singapore Exchange Limited
  • Dilhan Pillay Sandrasegara, deputy chief executive officer, Temasek International
  • Viswanathan Shankar, chief executive officer, Gateway Partners
  • Teo Siong Seng, chairman, Singapore Business Federation
  • Eugene Wong, founder and managing director, Sirius Venture Capital
  • Audrey Yap, co-founder and managing partner, Yusarn Audrey
  • Renny Yeo, chairman, Singapore Accreditation Council

MTI said in a statement on Monday that it would like to thank all members of the Spring and IE Singapore boards for their invaluable contributions, in particular Philip Yeo, the outgoing chairman of Spring, and Seah Moon Ming, the outgoing chairman of IE Singapore.

"Over the years, both Mr Philip Yeo and Mr Seah Moon Ming have played a key role in leading Spring and IE Singapore to provide strong enabling support for many Singapore companies to build up their capabilities and expand into international markets. I would like to express MTI's deep appreciation for their invaluable contributions," said MTI permanent secretary Loh Khum Yean.


These are the directors on the current boards of Spring Singapore and IE Singapore:

Spring Singapore

  • Chairman: Philip Yeo
  • Deputy chairman: Piyush Gupta, CEO, DBS Group (deputy chairman)
  • Poon Hong Yuen, chief executive, Spring Singapore
  • Peter Ho, CEO, HOPE Technik
  • Andrew Kwan, group managing director, Commonwealth Capital
  • Jeanne Liew, principal and CEO, Nanyang Polytechnic
  • Lim Kok Kiang, assistant managing director, cluster group engineering, Economic Development Board
  • Lim Der Shing, co-founder, JobsCentral Group
  • Ng Chee Peng, CEO, Central Provident Fund Board
  • Melvyn Ong Su Kiat, Chief of Army, Ministry of Defence
  • Sim Giok Lak, chairman and managing director, Zicom Group Limited
  • Satvinder Singh, assistant chief executive officer, International Enterprise Singapore
  • Christopher Wong, head of Assurance, Ernst & Young
  • Renny Yeo, independent director, OEL (Holdings)

IE Singapore

  • Chairman: Seah Moon Ming, chairman, SMRT Corporation (chairman)
  • Deputy chairman: Robert Yap, executive chairman, YCH Group
  • Chng Kai Fong, managing director, Economic Development Board
  • Gan Seow Kee, chairman and managing director, ExxonMobil Asia Pacific
  • Kathy Lai, acting CEO, International Enterprise Singapore
  • Lau Peet Meng, Deputy Commissioner of Police (Operations), Singapore Police Force, Ministry of Home Affairs
  • Lim Tuang Liang, Chief of Staff - Joint Staff, Ministry of Defence
  • Olivia Lum, executive chairman and group CEO, Hyflux
  • Ong Peng Tsin, managing director, Monk's Hill Ventures
  • Viswanathan Shankar, CEO and partner, Gateway Partners
  • Tan Chong Meng, group CEO, PSA International
  • Eugene Wong, founder and managing director, Sirius Venture Capital