Local business leaders strike gold

EIGHTEEN homegrown entrepreneurs were named winners of the Entrepreneur of the Year (EYA) Award 2018 earlier this week. 
They were honoured at a ceremony held on Wednesday (Oct 10) morning at the Marina Mandarin Hotel.

Eleven were from the Established Entrepreneur category, while seven came from the New Entrepreneur category.

Now in its 30th year, the EYA honours the achievements of local entrepreneurs and is one of Singapore's most established and recognised business awards.

It was inaugurated in 1989 by the Rotary Club of Singapore, which continues to co-organise it with the Association of Small & Medium Enterprises (ASME).

This year's themes “Striking Gold” was chosen because the panel identified enterprising business leaders who possess commitment, perseverance, creativity and vision – all the key traits of a good goldsmith. 

“The entrepreneurship journey is always filled with highs and lows – those who have gone through or are going through this arduous journey will tell you much energy has been sapped along the way,” noted Thomas Fernandez, Co-Chairman of the EYA 2018 Organising Committee from ASME, “A salient qualifier of an entrepreneur is that he or she must embrace challenges, learning as he or she prods along.” 

Alan Tan, Co-Chairman of the EYA 2018 Organising Committee from Rotary Club of Singapore, added, “The winners who are here today do not just have ideas, as ideas alone are not good enough – they worked very hard to turn their ideas into reality, creating jobs and wealth – they are resilient and possess the tenacious ability to bounce back in the face of setbacks and failures.” 

The Overall Winners for the Established Entrepreneur and New Entrepreneur categories, as well as the Winners for the EYA Sub-Category Awards will be announced at the EYA 2018 Award Presentation Ceremony on November 22. 

Established Entrepreneur winners:

SAMUEL YIK KUEN KOON (Managing Director) and ELIZA GUNAWAN RUAN YI (Executive Director), Dian Xiao Er

DR. STEVEN ANG (Director), Dr Steven Ang Aesthetic & Family Clinic

RACHEL WONG MAI KIM (Managing Director), Marunda Utama Engineering Pte Ltd 

DERRICK YAP KHIAM WEE (Chief Executive Officer). PBA International Pte Ltd 

SAUMIK BERA (CEO & Director), Real Yoga Pte Ltd 

SYAFIQ YUSSOFF (Chief Executive Officer), Riverwood Pte Ltd 

TAN POO SENG (Managing Director), Topzone E&C Pte Ltd 

RYAN SUMESH (Chief Executive Officer), Vrobal Energy & Resources Pte Ltd

BEH LIAN CHAI (Managing Director) and KELVIN CHAY(Executive Director), YITAC (S) Pte Ltd

New Entrepreneur winners:

NOVIE DJAYAYANTI TJOA (Managing Director), Eatz Group Pte Ltd 

AARON LEE WAI LOONG (Managing Director), Gabkotech Innovations Pte Ltd 

ROY LAI KIAN MING (Founder / CEO), Infocorp Technologies Pte Ltd 

CHRISTOPHER CHAU TUNG LU (Director / Tea Master), Old Village Puer Pte Ltd 

NG KIM WAH (CEO), SKYFY Technology Pte Ltd 

DATO' VICTOR TAN JENN CHYEN (CEO), Top International Holding Pte Ltd 

VICTOR TAY YOUXIAN (Managing Director), White Beehoon Restaurant Pte Ltd